Click on image to download

Karen, Esquimalt, BC
member since April, 2009

Forum

Esquimalt BC

Profile Email   PM

By: Anonymous: SetterKate () on Friday, April 22 2011 @ 05:20 PM EDT  
Anonymous: SetterKate

I am new to Eagle cam watching. This is very exciting. The second one hatched I guess late yesterday. The newer one doesn't seem to be feeding much. The parent seems more focused on the older one. Is this normal. Will the second one be OK? Also how do you guys seem to now who is Ma and Pa?

By: sandra gee (offline) on Friday, April 22 2011 @ 05:43 PM EDT  
sandra gee

Quote by: SetterKate

I am new to Eagle cam watching. This is very exciting. The second one hatched I guess late yesterday. The newer one doesn't seem to be feeding much. The parent seems more focused on the older one. Is this normal. Will the second one be OK? Also how do you guys seem to now who is Ma and Pa?

Hi SetterKate wave and welcome to HWF, you've come here at a wonderful time. Lots of eaglets and lots of action.

The parent will feed both but quite often the older one will peck the smaller one into submission (you've probably heard of the expression "pecking order", well, here we get to see the true meaning of it). When eaglets first hatch their bodies continue to absorb a bit of the yoke sac so it's okay for them to not eat right away. The smaller one may not get as much as the bigger one at first but they seem to do okay. If there's plenty of food to go around they all seem to do alright. When the eaglets have just eaten the food goes into their crops (the throat area just under their beak). We like to see a nice bulge there because then we know they've eaten well.